DSC09804 Pp Pp Copy

Ulla Klinge

Of Counsel, European Patent Attorney

Representative before the UPC

PhD (law), MSc (Chem.Eng.)

My background and fields of specialization

Patent consultancy
I have extensive experience with patent enforcement, in particular in the chemical and pharmaceutical sectors. I provide advice to Danish and international companies on supplementary protection certificates, and I represent clients in Patent Office prosecution.  Furthermore I provide patent drafting services to industry clients and universities.

Focus areas and educational background
My technical focus areas are medicinal products, notably in the field of small molecules, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, technical chemistry and food technology. I hold a Master’s degree in chemistry from the Technical University of Denmark and a PhD degree in law from the Faculty of Law at the University of Copenhagen. My PhD thesis bears the title “Is the SPC regulation (still) fit for purpose? – SPC eligibility of modern pharmaceuticals”. The thesis analyses and evaluates if the SPC regulation fits with modern pharmaceutical innovation, notably biotechnological innovation and secondary innovation.

I have more than 25 years of experience as European Patent Attorney. 

Technical fields of specialization
I work within the following technical fields: medicinal products, food chemistry and polymer chemistry.

I have broad experience in patent litigation both as advisor to the client, as expert witness, as court-appointed expert and as technical judge before both Danish and Norwegian courts.

I am a member of and past president of the Danish Association of Intellectual Property Attorneys (ADIPA), member of the patent practice committee of ADIPA and treasurer in Foreningen Industriel Retsbeskyttelse (the Danish counterpart of AIPPI).

At eye level

I love reading books and spending entire afternoons cooking, preferably in our summerhouse in Mols, a marvelous hilly region by the East coast of Jutland. I also enjoy a variety of physical activities, including hiking and tennis, as well as spending holidays on my bike.